Coup or no coup

I believe that what occurred was probably a “coup”, albeit not a traditional one. As I’ve stated before, I like to refer to it as a “hybrid coup”. I also think of it as a just coup. I have no problem with using the word coup to describe what happened just like a don’t have a problem using the word “war” to describe US interventions in Iraq, Afghanistan, Panama, Grenada, Vietnam, Korea, etc. even thought technically they were not wars, rather conflicts or invasions. I think the interim government’s case about it not being a coup are weak, but that really doesn’t matter so much to me because I believe that Mr. Zelaya was a menace to Honduran society and potentially a tremendous danger (particularly with Mr. Chavez pulling the strings). So “legally”, I think supporters of Mel have a strong case… in the same way as “legally” the people of Iraq have one against the US. I’m simply glad Mel is gone.

Leave a Reply

